Ramaphosa appoints Okonjo-Iweala, Manuel special envoys

The Chairperson of the African Union and President of South Africa, Cyril Ramaphosa, has appointed ex-Nigerian finance minister, Dr Ngozi Okonjo-Iweala, Dr Donald Kaberuka, Mr Tidjane Thiam and Mr Trevor Manuel as Special Envoys of the African Union.

Read:  Unilever rolls out food and hygiene products to support Nigerians during COVID-19

They are to mobilise international support for Africa’s efforts to address the economic challenges African countries will face as a result of the COVID-19 pandemic.

Okonjo-Iweala had been appointed a member of the Economic Advisory Council by Ramaphosa in March; to help give South Africa a coherent economic policy. The appointment was for a term of three years.

Read:  Kanye West announces partnership with Nigerian designer Mowalola Ogunlesi

Kaberuka is an economist and former President and Chairman of the Board of Directors of the African Development Bank, while Manuel was the longest-serving Minister of Finance in South Africa and formerly headed the country’s National Planning Commission.

Read:  Citigroup announce Ireti Samuel-Ogbu as first female Chief in Nigeria.

Thiam, a banker and businessman, is the former Chief Executive Officer of Credit Suisse Group, a leading global  financial services company.

Related posts

Nigerian Journalist, Arit Okpo named by CNN as new African Voices host


Biden appoints Funmi Badejo, into cabinet as White House counsel.


FBN Holdings Announces Otedola as Non-Executive Director.


Stephanie Linus Unveiled as Gree AC Brand Ambassador.


Nigerian Beroro Efekoro Elected As Albany County Legislator In New York


Fidelity Bank Appoints Shodipo Executive Director.


Leave a Comment