7 Members of CBN’s monetary policy committee confirmed by senate

Economists forecast lending rate hike ahead of MPC meeting

The Senate has confirmed the nominations of seven members of the Monetary Policy Committee of the Central Bank of Nigeria (CBN).

The confirmation of the nominees followed the consideration of a report by the Committee on Banking, Insurance and Other Financial Institutions.

A statement CBN revealed that the report was laid and presented by the Chairman of the Committee, Senator Uba Sani.

Read:  BUA Cement posts N209.4bn revenue, plans expansion

President Muhammadu Buhari had in a letter to the Senate explained that the confirmation and membership renewal request was made pursuant to Section 12(4) of the Central Bank Act, 2007.

Those confirmed by the Senate include Professor Mohammed Adaya Salisu and Dr. Mo’Omamegbe – both of whom are new appointments. 

The other five Members of the Committee for renewal are Professor Michael Obadan, Prof. Festus Adeola Adenikinju, Prof. Aliyu Sanusi Rafindadi, Dr. Robert Asogwa and Alhaji Aliyu Ahmed. 

Read:  Julius Berger posts N71.2b turnover, Q1 profit rises to N2.8bn

Senator Uba Sani, in his presentation, said the nominees posses the academic qualifications, technical knowledge and professional experience to be Members of the Monetary Policy Committee of the Central Bank of Nigeria.

Read:  YouTube restates commitment to content creators

He told his colleagues that the Senate Committee on Banking did not receive any petition against their nominations.


Related posts

DMO offers October savings bonds for subscription


Coca-Cola set to celebrate 7 decades in Nigeria


PenCom alerts public on illicit activities of ASSOPEP


Dangote Sugar rewards shareholders N12.15bn dividend


Burger King launches in Nigeria


CBN Communique 140 of Monetary Policy Committee Meeting held January 24th 2022


Leave a Comment