The National Park Service is an agency of the Federal that manages the Seven national parks, and other conservation and historical properties with various title designations. It functions is to preserve, enhance, protect and manage vegetation and wild animals in the National Parks; he seven National Parks which span across the various ecological zones of Nigeria (with the exception of the marine ecosystem) are some of the few remaining natural ecosystems capable of enhancing ecological processes and life support systems.

Each of them has its own unique attributes in terms of biophysical and anthropogenic resources to offer to visitors. They cover a total land area of approximately 20,156 sq. km, i.e. about three percent (3%) of the country total land area (i.e. 932,768 km2).

National Unit Parks

Chad Basin National Park (CBNP)
Chad Basin National Park is situated within the ancient Kanem-Borno Empire (present day Borno and Yobe States).

Cross River National Park (CRNP)
Cross River National Park is located between Latitude 5o 05’ and 6o 29’ N, and Longitudes 8o 15’ and 9o 30’ E, in the extreme south-eastern corner of Nigeria, in Cross River State.

Gashaka-Gumti National Park (GGNP)
Gashaka-Gumti National Park is located in the mountainous region of north-eastern Nigeria adjacent to the international border with Cameroon, and immediately to the north of Mambilla Plateau.

Kainji Lake National Park (KLNP)
The Nation’s premier National Park was established by the amalgamation of two former game reserves-Borgu and Zugurma

Kamuku National Park (KNP)
Kamuku National Park is located in Birnin Gwari, Kaduna State of Nigeria.

Okomu National Park (ONP)
Okomu National Park “The pride of our natural heritage” is the smallest of the seven National Parks in Nigeria.

Old Oyo National Park (OONP)
The Park derives its name from the ruins of Oyo-Ile (Old Oyo) the ancient political capital of Yoruba Empire.

National Park Service,
Umaru Musa Yar’adua Express Way,
P M B 0258, Garki-Abuja