The Pension Transitional Arrangement Directorate (PTAD) is an agency of the Federal Government established in August 2013 in compliance with the provisions of Section 30 sub-section (2) (a) of the Pension Reform Act (PRA) of 2004 (amended in 2014) which stipulated the establishment of an independent pension department for the Public Service of the Federation.

PTAD is made up of the following departments (Section 43 (3) of the Pension Reform Act):

  • The Civil Service Pension Department (CSPD)
  • The Police Pension Department (PPD)
  • The Customs, Immigration and Prisons Pension Department (CIPPD)
  • The Treasury Funded Parastatals Pension Department (PaPD)
  • The Pension Support Services Department (PSSD)

In accordance with another Act of the National Assembly, the following pension departments were exempted from the consolidation and management of PTAD:

  • The Military Pension Department
  • The Security Agencies Pension Department

Functions of PTAD

  • Existing Functions of Relevant Pension Boards
  • Budgetary Estimates For Existing Pensioners
  • Receive Budgetary Allocations From Government
  • Ascertain Deficits in Pension Payments

22 Katsina-Ala Crescent,
Off Yedseram Street,
Maitama, Abuja, FCT