The Rivers State University Teaching Hospital (RSUTH) formally Braithwaite Memorial Specialist Hospital (BMSH) is a government-owned hospital, named after Eldred Curwen Braithwaite, a British doctor. It is located in Old GRA, Rivers State and was transformed into a state-of-the-art Teaching Hospital by the state Governor His Excellency, Chief Barr. Nyesom Ezenwo Wike CON for the training of medical students and other health professionals from the Rivers State University in the year 2018.
BMH, was established in March 1925 as a Nursing Home and originally served as a medical facility for the Colonial Masters and senior civil servants. It later became a General Hospital and has since gained status as a “Specialist Health Institution” before it was upgraded to serve as University Teaching Hospital for the College of Medical Services of the Rivers State University.
The hospital is ranked among the largest hospitals in the Niger Delta. The facility has 375 beds capacity. Its departments include Medicine, Paediatrics, Laboratories, Radiology, Family Medicine, Obstetrics & Gynaecology, Anaesthesia, Surgery, Chemical Pathology, Haematology & Blood Transfusion, Medical Microbiology, Anatomical Pathology, Ophthalmology, Accident and Emergency. Some other departments are Pharmacy, Finance, Maintenance, and General Administration. It has accreditation in most of the Clinical department for the training of resident doctors.