Prizes & Awards

‘#EndSARS Protesters’ emerges YNaija Person of the Year 2020.

The editorial board of Y! (TV and Online) has announced the #EndSARS Protesters comprising all campaigners, promoters, online as well as offline protesters, as its pick for Person of the Year 2020. 

Chosen by a consensus of YNaija editors, #EndSARS Protesters emerged overall winner amongst Ezra Olubi and Shola AkinladeH.E. Seyi Makinde, Dr. Sam Adeyemi, Chimamanda AdichieDr. Ngozi Okonjo-Iweala, Akinwunmi Adesina, Israel Adesanya, David ‘Davido‘ Adeleke, and Olasunkanmi Opeifa who were all nominees for the 2020 award. 

The YNaija Person of the Year (formerly Y!/ Person of the Year) has since inception in 2011, been awarded to individuals of Nigerian origin as a way of recognising their most visible influence and achievements through acts of social good, personal achievement or innovation with the most outsized impact on the Nigerian society in the year under review; breaking new boundaries or consolidating on gains – and driving the advancement of the public, especially young people. 

Read:  Hatch to showcase Canada-Africa solutions at Africa Accelerating 2021.

Previous winners of the award include: 

2011: The editors announced there was no winner. 

2012: Aliko Dangote – Entrepreneur and Africa’s richest man. 

2013: Jason Njoku – Tech industry trailblazer and Co-founder of iROKO Partners. 

Read:  Lagos Launches New Learning Initiative.

2014: Obiageli ‘Oby’ Ezekwesili – Former Minister of education and Activist. 

2015: Josephine Ugwu – the honest airport cleaner who found and returned the precious sum of N12 million in cash. 

2016: The Nigerian Paralympics team was chosen for their excellent outing at the 2016 Summer Olympics. 

2017: Ayo ‘Wizkid‘ Balogun – Entertainer and Songwriter 

2018:  Segun ‘Segalink’ Awosanya –  Activist and ENDSARS Campaigner. 

2019: Omoyele Sowore – Pro-democracy campaigner, rights activist and founder of Sahara Reporters. 

Teacher and finalist for the 2020 edition of the prestigious Global Teacher Prize, Olasunkanmi Opeifa was on Thursday, December 24 announced winner of the popular vote following a poll which ran for about one month. 

Read:  VeggieVictory: Global Investors Back Nigeria’s First Plant-Based Food Tech In Pre-Seed Round.

There is no award ceremony for the YNaija Person of the Year 2020. To read an in-depth explanation of the board’s motivations for choosing the #EndSARS Protesters, visit ttps://

Happy New Year!


About Y! 

YNaija is the internet newspaper for young Nigerians, focused on issues and ideas that matter for an evolving generation. It is what the smartest people read. 

Related posts

UI researcher wins institute’s $1,000 PhD prize.


Nigerian girl breaks 125 year academic record in American High School.


Digital Firm, Wild Fusion Named 2019 Top Digital Marketing Agency


Gift Udoh: US Honours Nigerian Lady For Contribution Towards Farming


Nigerians win Netflix’s ‘Dear White People’ contest


Ogutu Okudo emerges winner of the coveted Young Person of the Year Prize at The Future Awards 2020.


Leave a Comment