Event, Arts and EntertainmentInnovations

Meet pioneers, innovators and advocates recognised at Nigeria@60 ICT Hall of Fame awards

TechTV Networkin collaboration with TechEconomy.ng, has recognised pioneers, innovators and advocates and influential organisations in the Nigerian telecoms; information and communication technology (ICT).

The award ceremony, held recently in Lagos-Nigeria, was part of activities for this year’s Titans of Tech Conference & Exhibition and in commemoration of Nigeria’s 60th Independence anniversary (Nigeria@60).

President, Digital Bridge Institute, Engr. Mohammed Ajiya

The Hybridge event with Virtual & physical attendance was held on October 08, 2020 at Virgin Rose Hotel, Victoria Island Lagos with outstanding personalities and high achievers leveraging technology across sector also recognized for their positive contributions to the nation’s economy.

President of ISPON, Chinenye Mba Uzoukwu

The awardees include: Most Innovative AgricTech platform of the Year – Farmcrowdy; Excellent Leadership in digital Training Award -Prof. Engr. Mohammed Ajiya (the President, Digital Bridge Institute) and the Broadband Advocate of the Year – Olusola Teniola (President, ATCON).Nigeria@60

President, Programos Software Group and Chief Lead at Innovationbed.Africa, Amos EmmanuelNigeria@60

Former President of ISPON, Chris Uwaje and National Coordinator of WASPAN, Chijioke Ezeh

Those inducted into the ICT Hall of Fame under TechLegends Award category include;

Prof. Aliyu and the team from DBI

Read:  TikTok unveils #YearOnTikTok 2021 to celebrate Nigerians.

Engr. Olawale Ige (former Minister of Communications; HRH Engr. Eze Ogbonna Cletus Iromantu (pioneer EVC, NCC); Engr. Vincent Maduka (for contributions towards the establishment of NCC); Engr. Ernest Ndukwe (former EVC of NCC who led the successful auction of GSM licenses in Nigeria); Engr. Titi Omo-ettu (for playing key role in the liberalisation of the Nigerian telecoms industry); Chief Don Etiebet (pioneered the first Nigerian brand in personal computing) and Chima Onyekwere (championing internet revolution in Nigeria);

President of ISPON, Chinenye Mba Uzoukwu; Publisher, ITREALMS Group, Remmy Nweke and Managing Partner, TechTV Networks, Don Pedro Aganbi

Others are Chief Leo Stan Ekeh (pioneered the Desktop Publishing, Computer Graphics in Nigeria and the launch of Zinox Technologies – Nigeria’s behemoth in technology sector); Chris Uwaje (contributions in the conceptualisation framework and content strategy for NITDA policy for Nigeria); Funke Opeke (for pioneering private sector-led Submarine Cable system in West Africa); Olarewaju Ayoola (for setting the stage for IoT revolution in West Africa) and Austin Okere (for innovative and investment acumen that birthed CWG Plc, a leading Pan-African systems integrator).#Nigeria@60

Read:  3 THRONES: The Concert

From Left to right: Editor, techEconomy.ng, Peter Oluka; Former President of ISPON, Chris Uwaje; incumbent President of ISPON, Chinenye Mba Uzoukwu and the Managing Partner, TechTV Networks, Don Pedro Aganbi during Nigeria@60 ICT Hall of Fame Awards

Other individual and corporate awardees are; Government Agency of the Decade – Nigerian Communications Commission (NCC; Telecom Regulator of the Decade – Professor Umar Garba Danbatta, EVC of NCC; Tech CEO of the Year – Chijioke Eke (MD, Sidmach Technologies); Best Public Sector Cloud Infrastructure Provider of the Year – Galaxy Backbone Limited (GBB); ICT Company of the Year – Sidmach Technologies; Most Innovative Covid-19 e-learning platform of the Year – Luminate; ICT Infrastructure Company of the Year – TranterIT. Broadband Company of the Decade – MainOne; Most Innovative Tech Entrepreneur of the Year – Onyeka Akumah; Corporate Communications Manager of the Year – Hadiza Umar.Nigeria@60

Engr. Mohammed Ajiya flanked by the team from DBI

Excellence in Leadership Award recipients are: Chinenye Mba Uzoukwu (President of ISPON); Engr. Gbenga Adebayo (Chairman of ALTON); Engr. Olusola Teniola (President of ATCON); Amos Emmanuel (President, Programos Software Group and Chief Lead at Innovationbed.Africa); Mohammed Rudman (President of NiRA) and Chijioke Ezeh (National Coordinator of WASPAN).Nigeria@60

Read:  US doctors bring better way of treating cancer to Nigeria

L-r: President, Digital Bridge Institute, Engr. Mohammed Ajiya and Executive Chairman of Tranter Group, Olarewaju Ayoola

The organisers also recognised ICT Media Heroes with the award recipients including Aaron Ukudie (Publisher, eWorldnews magazine); Sunny Aragba-Akpore (former Manager at NCC); Okoh Aihe (former NCC staff); Bayero Agabi (President at DigiVation Network); Segun Oruame (Publisher, ITEdge News); Don Pedro Aganbi (Managing Partner at TechTV Networks); Shina Badaru (Founder, Technology Times); Remmy Nweke (Publisher, ITREALMS Group); John Awe (Communications/PR, Globacom Limited).

Speaking at the event, Don Pedro Aganbi said that the story of the growth of Nigeria’s ICT sector is the ‘story of people’. “These are people who saw the potential; people who invested and many more who worked tirelessly for years to see the growth and success of the industry.”

“These leaders”, he continued, “inspired morale, accepted responsibility and pushed the frontiers. They are the pillar behind the success stories. So, we deemed it wise to celebrate them on the occasion of Nigeria’s 60th Independence Anniversary”.


Related posts

Hippolite Amadi, Nigerian Scientist Wins $100,000 Prize for Work in Keeping Newborns Alive.


Meet Sowemimo Abiodun ower of CapitalMetriQ Swift Bank and InfoMetriQ.


Osinbajo, Sanwo-Olu, commission $100m diapers, sanitary pad factory.


Wizkid, Trevor Noah, Olianna and Olivia, others nominated for Nickelodeon Kid’s Choice Awards 2023.


Nigeria’s first electric car debuts at Sokoto trade fair


US sponsors Ifeoma Uddoh to tech pitch in Washington


Leave a Comment