Prizes & Awards

Milo Championship: Nestlé Nigeria Announces 2022 Finals.

Nestlé has announced the 2022 finals of Milo Secondary Schools’ Basketball Championship at a press conference to celebrate  22 years of Grassroots Sports Development. 

The draws to determine the pattern of play at the finals were also held during the event. Twelve teams will play in the finals: six each in the male and female categories.

The finalists include Government Secondary School, Numan, Adamawa State; Akpur College, Gboko, Benue State; St. Jude’s Girls Secondary School, Amarata, Bayelsa State and David Hall College, Obalende, Ikoyi, Lagos State in the girls’ category.

Others are, Government Girls Secondary School, Bukavu, Kano State; and Queen Amina College, Sabon-Tasha, Kaduna State in the girls’ category.

In the boy’s category are Dutse Model International Secondary School, Jigawa State; Government Secondary School, Karu, FCT; King Amachree Academy, Port Harcourt, Rivers State and Topfield College, Ajugunle, Apapa, Lagos. 

The rest are, Victorroti Private Secondary School, Idi-Aba, Abeokuta, Ogun State and Bishop Dimieari Grammar School, Obom, Bayelsa State.

Read:  FUTA Alumnus Emerges Best Student In China

It would be recalled that the championship started this year with over 10,000 teams participating at the State preliminaries. The winners from the first stage went on to the Regional Conference stage where the finalists who will play in the National Finale emerged.

During the press conference, Mr. Wassim El-Husseini, Managing Director and Chief Executive Officer of Nestlé Nigeria PLC,  said, “For over two decades now, Nestlé has been at the forefront of grassroots sports development in Nigeria through the Nestlé Milo Secondary Schools’ Basketball Championship. 

“We continue to do our utmost to help shape a healthier and happier generation of Nigerians by encouraging them to participate in sporting activities. Milo Basketball Championship also provides a platform to help children imbibe values that set the right foundation for their future. They learn grit – perseverance through hardship, courage to overcome fear, ability to work in a team, self-belief, respect, and leadership.”

Read:  Rema, Jemima Osunde, Mr Macaroni, Odunayo Eweniyi, others make The Future Awards Africa nominees lis

Also speaking at the press conference, Mr. Olutayo Olatunji, Category Manager – Beverages, Nestlé Nigeria Plc,  said, “The MILO Basketball Championship now brings together over 10,000 schools every year.

“This Championship started with less than 500 schools in 1999. The school game has grown beyond being just a sport to a passion that helps to discipline the body and mind. 

“We thank our long-standing partners who have been part of the success of the Milo Basketball Championship for these 22 editions – the Nigerian Schools Sports Federation (NSSF), the National Collegiate Sports Foundation (NCSF),” he added.

According to Olabisi Joseph, National President of the Nigeria Schools’ Sports Federation, “Nestlé Nigeria Plc has made significant contributions to the growth of sports in Nigeria and the creation of a bright future for young people by supporting and promoting basketball in schools.” 

Read:  Forbes Lists Tara Fela-Durotoye Among “The Top 50 Most Powerful Women In Africa”

She said further, “Every year, our schoolboys and girls look forward to participating in the biggest grassroots basketball championship in Africa, which is fondly called MILO Basketball.”

Mr. Lanre Balogun, Executive Secretary of the National Collegiate Sports Foundation (NSSF), who also spoke at the press conference said, ”This Championship continues to grow from strength to strength, thanks to the commitment of our sponsors, Nestlé Nigeria Plc. 

“We will all agree that 22 years of continuous sponsorship in the life of any organisation is highly commendable and worthy of emulation. Therefore, Nestlé Nigeria Plc deserves all the accolades for maintaining the sponsorship of this event.”

Related posts

UBA emerges Champion Newspapers’ 2022 Bank of the Year.


Heritage Bank CEO wins Banker of the Year SMEs & Agric 2021 award.


Nigerian sprinter, Jerry Jakpa, wins 200m in Europe


UBA Group Gets Double Honours, Wins CEO, 2019 Bank Of The Year


Nigeria@60 enters Guinness World Records as Lagos Produces Largest Logo


Captain Hosa Okunbo Decorated With Lafayette Award At UN Day For Global Peace, Geneva.


Leave a Comment