NDIC to pay claims of 14 liquidated banks’ depositors, shareholders

The Nigeria Deposit Insurance Corporation (NDIC), yesterday, said it would commence payment of liquidation dividends to uninsured depositors, creditors and shareholders of 14 liquidated banks.

The affected banks are City Express Bank, All States Trust Bank, Allied Bank, Commerce Bank, North-South Bank, Cooperative and Commerce Bank and Nigeria Merchant Bank.

Others are Hilltop Microfinance Bank (MFB); Olomoyoyo MFB, Evo MFB, Ngwegwe MFB, Bekwarra MFB, Argungu MFB and Edet MFB.

Read:  Firm launch delivery app in Nigeria

The Director, Communication and Public Affairs Department, Bashir Nuhu, of the Corporation said this in a statement.

Stakeholders of eight of the closed banks are to receive their first round of liquidation dividend payments while those of the other six are to be paid additional sums due to them as part of their liquidation dividends.

He advised eligible stakeholders of the banks to visit the Corporation’s offices nationwide for the verification of their claims or do so on its website.

Read:  CBN devalues naira to N410.25/$1

Also, Nuhu said the Corporation has commenced the verification of depositors of 22 MFBs whose licences were recently revoked by the Central Bank of Nigeria (CBN). The verification exercise is aimed at ascertaining the insured sums to eligible depositors.

Read:  Investors gain N96bn amid bargain hunting

Depositors of the affected MFBs are to visit the closed banks’ addresses where their claims would be verified by the NDIC’s officials. They could do the same via the Corporation’s portal.


Related posts

Jaiz Bank wins global most improved Islamic bank award


FCMB group declares N13.8bn PAT in nine months 2021, as earnings per share prints 70 kobo


Fidelity Bank CEO bags Banker of the Year award


Forex policy widened exchange gap by N300 – ABCON


FMDQ lists N50bn CPs, N110bn bond in one week


AfDB appoints Dunford vice president


Leave a Comment