Press Releases

Nigerian youths must stop rewarding ignorance and tribalism” || Vice President, ‘Yemi Osinbajo speaks at The Future Awards Africa 2017

The Vice President of Nigeria, Prof. ‘Yemi Osinbajo yesterday called on young Nigerians to create a better future for the nation by ignoring those seeking to divide the country through willful ignorance, narrow-mindedness, and tribalism.

Giving his keynote speech at the 12th edition of The Future Awards Africa, Osinbajo pushed for a determined drive among Nigerians, especially active youth seeking to develop the country through unity, strength, and peace.

Read:  Access Bank begins disbursement of loans to grow Nigerian health sector

“We can all agree that nobody should be allowed to steal or waste public resources; that the government should always create circumstances that benefit the happiness and prosperity of the majority; that the rule of law and order should be central; that we must always protect the weak and the vulnerable, and that the life of the Nigerian person is the country’s most precious resource. These are the demands that bind us together,” he said.

Read:  We are set for cashless toll on Lekki-Ikoyi Bridge – LCC

He described the new tribe of Nigeria as citizens who recognise that honest labour is dignified, worthy of respect and reward. He also called on Nigerians with love for the country and one another – those who recognise that integrity is a non-negotiable asset.

Themed Nigeria’s New Tribe, 21 winners emerged in various categories at The Future Awards Africa with artiste, Ayo ‘Wizkid’ Balogun taking home the prestigious ‘Young Person of the Year’ award.

Personalities at the event include the Governor of Kaduna, Nasir El-Rufai; Governor of Osun, Ogbeni Rauf Aregbesola; former Central Bank Deputy Governor, Prof. Kingley Moghalu; former Minister of Education, Dr. Obiageli Ezekwesili; Mo Abudu; Pastor Ituah Ighodalo and more.

Read:  A-List Celebrities Step Out For UNDP-Creative Connect In Lagos

Related posts

Call for Designers for AFWN 2017.


International Women’s Day 2018 & Award of Excellence


Ecobank Transnational Incorporated announces the appointment of Arunma Oteh to its Board of Directors


Vodacom Amasses Triple At 2019 Beacon Of ICT Awards, Joins ‘Hall Of Fame’


Access Bank launches new brand following its merger with Diamond Bank


Manifestation by AG Lagos Youths


Leave a Comment