Prizes & Awards

Olashore wins award for best global practice

The British Council has named the Olashore International School (OIS) as winner of the 2021-2023 British International School Award (ISA) for its commitment to promoting global awareness and understanding in the school.
This is the second time the school would be winning the award instituted by the British Council of Nigeria aimed at recognising and celebrating academic institutions with exemplary practices of international values.

Read:  LAWMA launches recycler app with promo.

Board Chairman of OIS, Abimbola Olashore, said: “The award is an affirmation of the school’s efforts in promoting international awareness and understanding and is also a noteworthy milestone in the school’s journey towards excellence.”
Speaking on the criteria for the schools selection for the award, he explained that the school completed projects that followed the curriculum of the British Council’s sustainable development goals by working on a total of eight projects.

Read:  Nigerian startup MePlaylist secures investment from Beyonce's father

He explained that the projects included: Gender equality statistics in Iloko Model College; Malaria Awareness in Iloko Community; Bullying In West African Schools in Ecolie Primarie Publiqu, Benin Republic.

He added that the project focused on Fundraising to Repair Boreholes in Iloko Community in Partnership with Austin Friars School, Carlisie, United Kingdom (UK) and International Women’s Day in Partnership with the African Leadership Academy South Africa, among others.

Read:  Davido wins SoundCity MVP Digital Artist Of The Year

“Olashore International School will be encouraged and supported to build an international culture across the school, collaborative curriculum-based work with a variety of partner schools and community participation through the award,” he said.


Related posts

Mele Kyari, CEO of the NNPC Bags CEO of the Year Award at the African Energy Awards 2021.


Burna Boy, Wizkid win Grammy Awards (full list of winners).


DJ Cuppy, Teni, others bag Nickelodeon’s Kids’ Choice Nominations.


Ecobank Wins Starsight Sustainability Award 2020.


Nigerian writer Obioma wins German award


Three Nigerian start-ups win AfDB AgriPitch contest.


Leave a Comment