Prizes & Awards

Oluwatobiloba Ajayi wins The Nigeria Prize for Difference and Diversity 2020.

The Nigeria Prize for Difference and Diversity has announced Oluwatobiloba Ajayi as winner of the maiden edition of the N1million Prize. The announcement was made on December 10, 2020, to commemorate World Human Rights Day. 

The maiden edition of the Prize was endowed by the co-founder of human flourishing company, Joy, Inc., and host of #WithChude, Chude Jideonwo, to identify and support individuals and organisations creating safe spaces for difference and diversity to flourish in Nigeria. 

Oluwatobiloba Ajayi is the founder of the Let Cerebral Palsy Kids Learn Foundation. Born with cerebral palsy, she turned a personal pain-point into a mission that empowers parents of children with cerebral palsy in Nigeria to aspire for and create more options for independence and contributions for their children. 

Read:  Agricorp invests N4bn in poultry production.

Founded in 2017, The Let Cerebral Palsy Kids Learn Foundation advocates for inclusive education for children with cerebral palsy. In the last 3 years, over 360 families have been reached directly and 75 children with cerebral palsy now have access to an education that prepares them for life on their own terms. 

“Ms Ajayi’s work inspires me deeply, as it should inspire all of us,” said Jideonwo. “I really, deeply hope that this prize gives her all the attention she and her work need to expand their reach and impact. The work is so important in creating a space to nurture and support difference, to expand society’s definition of normal, and to force us to pay attention to what truly matters – our common humanity.” 

The finalists, all below the ages of 35 and actively creating safe, warm spaces for diversity, inclusion, and equality were graded and selected by a distinguished panel of judges including actors Nse Ikpe-Etim and Eku Edewor, consultant psychiatrist Dr Gbonjubola Abiri, decorated journalists Kiki Mordi and Harry Itie, fashion designer Adebayo Oke-lawal, CNN African Voices’ Arit Okpo, and consultant Ndukwe Igbokwe.  

Read:  Governor Obiano set to honour Anambra-born 2020 top scoring JAMB candidates – Uche Nworah

The finalists also attended a week-long virtual workshop in October 2020 where they had access to and were mentored by a faculty of some of the brightest minds across media, human rights, and governance. Facilitators at the workshop were Olumide Makanjuola, Kiki Mordi, Busola Dakolo, Fu’ad Lawal, Ayodeji Osowobi, Othuke Ominiabohs, Jude Udo Ilo, Gbenga Sesan and Ayisha Osori. Other facilitators included Seun Onigbinde, Walter Ude, Aisha Yesufu, Edwin Okolo, and Chude Jideonwo. 

Read:  Tiwa Savage through as finalist for MTV Africa Music Awards Kampala 2021.

The prize is supervised by a global board of advisors whose members are: Lin Kobayashi, Co-founder, and Chair of Board, UWC ISAK; Olumide Makanjuola, Director of Programs, ISDAO; Perinatal Psychiatrist, Dr Zainab Imam; Noah Tsika, Associate Professor, City University of New York; Lisa Teasley, Senior Editor, Los Angeles Review of Books; Tony Muthee, a public health specialist, Larissa MacFarquhar, Staff Writer, The New Yorker; Cobhams Asuquo, musician and producer Wiebe Boer, CEO of All On, and Ike Anya, co-founder, Nigeria Health Watch. 

The list of the 15 finalists and their profiles can be viewed on

Related posts

Nigerian writer Obioma wins German award


Meet Tani Adewumi: The 10-year-old Nigerian who won US Chess Contest, Becomes National Champ.


TFhost Wins Hosting Company Award


5-Year-Old Nigerian Girl Shines, Wins Miss Toddler USA 2021.


Governor Sanwo-Olu Receives The Sun Governor Of The Year 2021.


Amusa wins Nigeria’s 1st gold, breaks 100m hurdles record


Leave a Comment