Prizes & Awards

[Full list of winners] Tems wins ‘Best Collaboration’ at 2022 BET Hip Hop Awards.

Afrobeats sensational singer/songwriter, Tems has won the Best Collaboration Category at the 2022 BET Hip Hop Award for her contribution on Future’s ‘Wait For U’ ft Drake.

The award which was held on 4th October 2022 saw the talented singer add another incredible feat to her award-winning and record-breaking year.

Tems earned three nominations for her contribution on Future’s ‘Wait For U’ namely- Song of the Year, Best Hip Hop Video, and Best Collaboration Award.

‘Wait For U’ edged out other nominees including ‘Family Ties’ by Baby Keem & Kendrick Lamar, ‘Way 2 Sexy’ by Drake Featuring Future & Young Thug, ‘Hot Shit’ by Cardi B, Kanye West & Lil Durk to win the Best Collaboration Award.

Fellow Nigerian superstar singer, Burna Boy who was nominated in the Video Director of the Year category for his self-directed music video, Last Last lost the award to Kendrick Lamar & Dave Free.

Ghanian superstar singer, Black Sheriff and Blxckie of South Africa also got nominated in the Best International Flow category but lost to French rapper, Benjamin Epps.

See Full Winners List:

Best Collaboration

Future featuring Drake & Tems – “Wait for U”- Winner
Baby Keem & Kendrick Lamar – “Family Ties”
City Girls featuring Usher – “Good Love”
Cardi B, Kanye West & Lil Durk – “Hot Shit”
Drake featuring 21 Savage – “Jimmy Cooks”
Benny the Butcher & J. Cole – “Johnny P’s Caddy”
Drake featuring Future & Young Thug – “Way 2 Sexy”

Read:  Nigeria's Emmanuel Iduma, others win 2022 Windham-Campbell Prize.

Video Director of the Year
Benny Boom
Burna Boy
Cole Bennett
Colin Tilley
Director X
Kendrick Lamar & Dave Free – Winner
Teyana Taylor

Best International Flow

Benjamin Epps (France) – Winner
Black Sherif (Ghana)
BLXCKIE (South Africa)
Central Cee (UK)
Haviah Mighty (Canada)
Knucks (UK)
Le Juiice (France)
Nadia Nakai (Zimbabwe)
Fazari Big Jue SZN (Liberia)
I Am Hip-Hop Award

Hip Hop Artist of the Year

Kendrick Lamar- Winner
Cardi B
Doja Cat
Kanye West
Megan Thee Stallion

Hip Hop Album of the Year

Kendrick Lamar – Mr. Morale & the Big Steppers- Winner
Latto – 777
Drake – Certified Lover Boy
Kanye West – Donda
Future – I Never Liked You
Pusha T – It’s Almost Dry
Nas – King’s Disease II

Best Hip Hop Video

ASAP Rocky – “D.M.B.”
Baby Keem & Kendrick Lamar – “Family Ties” – Winner
City Girls featuring Usher – “Good Love”
Cardi B, Kanye West & Lil Durk – “Hot Shit”
Bia & J. Cole – “London”
Future featuring Drake & Tems – “Wait for U”
Drake featuring Future & Young Thug – “Way 2 Sexy”

Read:  Five Nigerian innovators shortlisted for the 2022 Africa Price for Engineering Innovation.

Best Duo/Group
42 Dugg & EST Gee
Big Sean & Hit-Boy
Birdman & YoungBoy Never Broke Again
Blxst & Bino Rideaux
DaBaby & YoungBoy Never Broke Again
EarthGang – Winner
Styles P & Havoc

Best Live Performer

Cardi B
Doja Cat
J. Cole
Kanye West
Kendrick Lamar- Winner
Tyler, the Creator

Lyricist of the Year

Baby Keem
Benny the Butcher
J. Cole
Jack Harlow
Kendrick Lamar- Winner

DJ of the Year

DJ Cassidy
DJ Drama – Winner
DJ Kay Slay
DJ Premier
Nyla Symone
LA Leakers: DJ Sourmilk & Justin Incredible

Producer of the Year
ATL Jacob
Baby Keem
Hitmaka – Winner
Kanye West
Metro Boomin
Pharrell Williams

Song of the Year

“Big Energy” – Produced by Dr. Luke & Vaughn Oliver (Latto) – Winner
“F.N.F. (Let’s Go)” – Produced by Hitkidd (Hitkidd & GloRilla)
“First Class” – Produced by Rogét Chahayed, Jack Harlow, Jasper Harris, & Charlie Handsome (Jack Harlow)
“Hot Shit” – Produced by Tay Keith & BanBwoi (Cardi B, Kanye West & Lil Durk)
“Super Gremlin” – Produced by ATL Jacob & Jambo (Kodak Black)
“Wait for U” – Produced by FnZ & ATL Jacob (Future featuring Drake & Tems)
“Way 2 Sexy” – Produced by TM88 & Too Dope (Drake featuring Future & Young Thug)

Read:  Governor Sanwo-Olu Receives The Sun Governor Of The Year 2021.

Best Breakthrough Hip Hop Artist

GloRilla – Winner
Baby Keem
Fivio Foreign
Nardo Wick
Saucy Santana

Hustler of the Year

50 Cent – – Winner
Cardi B
DJ Khaled
Kanye West
Megan Thee Stallion

Sweet 16: Best Featured Verse

Drake – “Churchill Downs” (Jack Harlow) – Winner
J. Cole – “Poke It Out” (Wale)
J. Cole – “London” (Bia)
Lil Baby – “Girls Want Girls” (Drake)
Kanye West – “City of Gods” (Fivio Foreign & Alicia Keys)
Drake – “Wait for U” (Future & Tems)
Jadakiss – “Black Illuminati” (Freddie Gibbs)

Impact Track

Lizzo – “About Damn Time” – Winner
Fivio Foreign, Kanye West & Alicia Keys – “City of Gods”
Baby Keem & Kendrick Lamar – “Family Ties”
Nas featuring Lauryn Hill – “Nobody”
Latto – “Pussy”
Kendrick Lamar – “The Heart Part 5”
Doja Cat – “Woman”
Best Hip-Hop Platform
Caresha Please
Drink Champs
Big Boy’s Neighborhood
The Breakfast Club
Million Dollaz Worth of Game
NPR Tiny Desk

Related posts

Abdulhakim Bashir Wins Startup Innovation Competition In UAE, Gets $10k Prize


Fidelity Bank Wins SME Support Bank of Year 2020.


The Nation’s Ololade wins Global Journalism Award.


Edo wins Rosatom Atoms for Africa competition


12th African Games: Nigeria win six gold medals in weightlifting


Captain Hosa Okunbo Decorated With Lafayette Award At UN Day For Global Peace, Geneva.


Leave a Comment