Event, Arts and Entertainment

Wizkid, Burnaboy, Davido, Tems, and Fireboy DML among nominees for 54th NAACP Image Awards by BET

Voting is now open to the public on www.naacpimageawards.net

Today, NAACP unveiled the full list of “54th NAACP Image Awards” nominees with ABC and Netflix leading the pack with 29 and 15 nominations respectively. The winners will be revealed during the two-hour special airing Sunday, 26 February at 19:00 WAT with the repeat on Monday, 27 February at 11:00 WAT on the home of black excellence, BET Africa (DStv channel 129). The show will be in front of an audience for the first time in three years. 

Niigerian superstar, Burna Boy, was nominated in the “Outstanding Male Artist” category for his album Love, Damini, while his hit single Last Last was nominated for “Outstanding International Song”. Tems’ nominations came in the “Outstanding Duo, Group, or Collaboration (Contemporary)” category for her work on Future’s Wait for U and Beyonce’s Move. She also received a nomination in the “Outstanding International Song” category for her song No Woman, No Cry, which featured as one of the theme songs on Black Panther: Wakanda Forever. 

Davido’s ‘Stand strong’, ‘Diana’ by Fireboy DML, and ‘Bad to Me’ by Wizkid, were also nominated in the ‘Outstanding International Song’ category.

Read:  Del York, US-based Story Land Studios sign deal to develop film city in Lagos.

Netflix and Black Panther: Wakanda Forever lead nominations across the motion picture categories with 15 and 12 nominations respectively. ABC and Abbott Elementary received the most nominations in the television + streaming categories with 28 and nine nominations respectively. Beyoncé and Kendrick Lamar are tied for the most nominations in the music recording categories (5 respectively). RCA Records / RCA Inspiration received the most nominations across record labels (11). Penguin Random House and Harper Collins lead nominations across literary categories (9).  

“This year’s nominees have conveyed a wide range of authentic stories and diverse experiences that have resonated with many in our community, and we’re proud to recognize their outstanding achievements and performances,” said Derrick Johnson, President and CEO of the NAACP.  

“We take pride in recognizing the trailblazing achievements and artistry of this year’s esteemed nominees and celebrating the powerful legacy of the NAACP,” said Connie Orlando, EVP of Specials, Music Programming & Music Strategy, BET. “We look forward to bringing the Image Awards back to Pasadena in front of a live audience and delivering unforgettable moments that epitomize the brilliance of the Black community.”  

Read:  Amstel Malta’s Fan Reporter hits the AMVCA red carpet with her favorite stars


The public can vote to determine the winners of the “54th NAACP Image Awards” by visiting www.naacpimageawards.net. Voting closes on February 10, 2023. Winners will be revealed during the “54th NAACP Image Awards” telecast on February 25, 2023, on BET. NAACP will also recognize winners in non-televised Image Awards categories February 20-24, which will stream on www.naacpimageawards.net. For all information and the latest news, please follow NAACP Image Awards on Instagram @NAACPImageAwards.  

“BET is known for being a platform where black excellence shines and black culture lives, a mantra that is shared with the NAACP Awards. We are proud to be a conduit of honouring authentic stories by highlighting outstanding and ground-breaking work in film, television, theatre, music, and literature and look forward to the prestigious event”, said Monde Twala, Senior Vice President of Paramount Africa, and Peer Lead, BET International.   

One of the most iconic annual celebrations of Black excellence, the NAACP Image Awards draws the biggest and brightest stars in Hollywood. Previous years’ attendees and winners include Samuel L. Jackson, Jennifer Hudson, Rihanna, Wizkid, Lizzo, Beyoncé, Jay-Z, Michael B. Jordan, Oprah Winfrey, Prince Harry & Meghan Markle, Jamie Foxx, Chloe x Halle, Regé-Jean Page, Daniel Kaluuya, Michaela Coel, Cliff “Method Man” Smith, Blair Underwood, Will Smith, Taraji P. Henson, Marsai Martin, Viola Davis, Gabrielle Union, Kerry Washington, Anthony Anderson, Sterling K. Brown, Loni Love, Sheryl Underwood, Halle Berry, Common, Dwayne Johnson, Audra Day, John Legend, Lena Waithe, Tracee Ellis Ross, David Oyelowo, Laverne Cox, Octavia Spencer, Issa Rae, Trevor Noah, Yara Shahidi, Danai Gurira, Jacob Latimore, Jill Scott, H.E.R., Jay Pharoah, Jemele Hill, Loretta Devine, Sylvester Stallone, Meta Golding, Michael Smith, Tyler James Williams, Ava DuVernay, the late Chadwick Boseman, and many more.  

Read:  AfricaCom Awards 2020 – Winners Announced


  • Angela Bassett 
  • Mary J. Blige 
  • Quinta Brunson 
  • Viola Davis 
  • Zendaya 


Outstanding Motion Picture 

  • A Jazzman’s Blues (Netflix) 
  • Black Panther: Wakanda Forever (Marvel Studios) 
  • Emancipation (Apple TV)
  • The Woman King (Sony Pictures Releasing) 
  • TILL (United Artists Releasing/Orion Pictures) 

Outstanding Actor in a Motion Picture 

  • Daniel Kaluuya – Nope (Universal Pictures) 
  • Jonathan Majors – Devotion (Sony Pictures Entertainment) 
  • Joshua Boone – A Jazzman’s Blues (Netflix) 
  • Sterling K. Brown – Honk for Jesus. Save Your Soul (Focus Features) 
  • Will Smith – Emancipation (Apple) 

Outstanding Actress in a Motion Picture 

  • Danielle Deadwyler – TILL (United Artists Releasing/Orion Pictures) 
  • Keke Palmer – Alice (Vertical Entertainment) 
  • Letitia Wright – Black Panther: Wakanda Forever (Marvel Studios) 
  • <span data-contrast=”auto” lang=”EN-US” class=”x_TextRun x_SC

Related posts

Edo State International Film Festival sponsored by the SDC and GIZ kicks off with Opening Ceremony.


‘I Am LAYCON’ To Go Live In UK, France, 23 Other Countries Outside Of Africa.


India Arie, Abimbola Fashola, Praiz, Gideon Okeke, step out in style for Sax Appeal 5.


Anambra Youth Cultural Fiesta 2016


This was a concert” – 2Baba says as Trophy Extra Special Band delivers on reggae theme.


Africa Fashion Week London Celebrates Africa Day with Special Guests


Leave a Comment